Geography lessons required.

I swear the Message Settings on these websites are as dodgy as all get out.

POF’s settings are especially crap. You can either choose to get messages from people “anywhere” (Ye Gods, that could prove interesting) or “within 75 miles” of your location.

It obviously hasn’t realised that we run on the metric system Down Under, so 75 miles is about 120km.

That might explain why I get so many messages from the exotic metropolises of the Gold Coast and Sunshine Coast.

However, today I received a message from someone who claims to be in Essendon. Now I do know where Essendon is, as my late father was a mad supporter of their AFL team, the Bombers. It’s in Melbourne. About 10km northwest of the CBD according to Wikipedia.

And almost 1700km away from Brisbane. (Google Maps reckons it’s about 18 hours by car, and 324 hours if you walked. Fun fact of the day.)

After first working out that no, there is no Essendon in Queensland (in Australia there are plenty of places that are doubled up – for example there is a Manly in Sydney and a Manly in Brisbane), I found myself at a loss.

How on earth did that one get through the filter?

Wonder if the postcode got mixed up – Essendon is 3040 and there is a 4030 postcode in the Brisbane area. (Kalinga/Lutwyche/Windsor/Wooloowin, come on dooowwwwn!)

I guess we’ll never know.

Soph x

Leave a comment